Sunday, October 31, 2010

Nishabd- Amitabh B

What an utterly crap film. Caught it flipping channels yesterday night and against my better judgement watched it for the better part of an hour.
It's a film without any storyline- yeah yeah yeah- old man young woman blah blah blah! We saw the amazingly made 'American Dream', whose copy this film is, and I will say it again- What an utterly crap film.

Evolved Indians will say,' Oh what a bold subject!' 'Wow, Amitabh has acted so well' blah blah blah!
Amitabh is terrible in this film- and I used to be a huge fan of his. He has no on screen chemistry with the terrible actress from across the border, I'm forgetting her name; he looks much more tired and haggard than his age, or maybe I am meeting much more energetic and graceful 60 year olds these days; he seems to be unable to act.
There is nothing shown in the film by the way of that in ignorable chemistry which forces him to chuck his wife and daughter out of the house for a psychotic looking babe. They do show them dancing together once, driving together once and some bits and bobs as incidents that draw them together inexorably.

Why oh why do the majority of film makers treat the Indian audience like crap? Probably because we are. The director used a bold subject- maybe because Tabu could pull it off with AB in Cheeni Kum, the director thought he could do it with a younger girl, show some skin. What he couldn't decide was whether to make the film for mainstream cinema (after all where will the money come in from) or for the discerning viewer (like yours truly). So he chose the subject carefully and then proceeded to shit it up, for the mainstream audience would never accept open sexual chemistry between a 60 + guy and a barely out of school girl- it's a different case that the same audience proceeds to ogle anything that's even remotely female.

I think I have wasted enough  time already on this absolutely silly film, both seeing it and then writing about it, so I will sincerely advise all my fans to go watch it.
If I had said don't watch it, you still would've been tempted to, right?

No comments:

Post a Comment

it would be great to know what you have to say!