Today I went with my nearly-four-year-old son to one of his friend's birthday party. Considering the fact that we'd been there the last time as well; we knew just what to expect...big party in a sprawling mansion...2000 balloons, fancy gifts etc. And so it was bigger and better, if a little sombre *(if that's possible)...the theme- Alexander McQueen (no not the designer, the car).
Everything is Lightening McQueen including the bouncy castle and the return gifts must be more than what we gave the poor birthday boy! (by the way what the hell do u give a super rich boy who has everything?)
So Kabir goes on to have a great time except for the hunger- he's just not used to eating late; well at least late by my standards. How cool can a party be if most of the snacks being served are clearly 'adult' in their nature? Or if the cake takes forever to be cut or the food is nowhere to be seen? (Well it was great when it was seen finally, with different dishes for children) What do you say when your son who's just not used to soft fizzy drinks, asks for juice?
Well I'm not being mean, especially as this little boy's mum happens to be a real sweet girl. But it's just a difference in sensibilities, where we make sure at a children's party, it is indeed the kids who come first!
*though not a reason for the sobriety, I got to know later the mother had just remarried, literally a couple of days earlier; recovering from a terrible divorce from an alcoholic physically abusive husband! And if educated girls with super strong parent support take this kind of abuse from their husbands, what do the less privileged ones do?
No comments:
Post a Comment
it would be great to know what you have to say!