Sunday, January 31, 2010

Abeer's first film and more!!

Well this weekend was certainly an action packed one and in a more or less good way!! Having spent all of Friday evening in deciding what to do, which show of which film to go for...we switched to Anuj going for K's birthday party shopping and finally settled on having lunch at Sagar (idli-dosa) and going t Qutb Minar. Kabir had made a Q M in school, so like all good parents- I'm sorry great parents , it was only right that we took him to see the real deal.
And having forgotten that it was a Saturday, we had also forgotten how crowded it could be and was owing to the weekend school crowds. And of course, this being India, one can't expect even the least bit of organisation- school children were running to get in, with teachers having no control- recipe for stampede- i really shudder to think what can happen!
Anyway, rejecting our first impulse that of turning the car around and running away, we managed to struggle in, promptly to be accosted (and this happens very very often these days) by a woman carrying a small girl. Now this woman in question is trying to force her little girl to shake hands with our barely-six-month-old-just-recovered-from-a-long-illness-boy, and mercifully the girl declines. But of course the mother does not give up, she then urges her daughter to touch the baby all over his face, to which I have a horrified NO- please don't touch my baby- he has a bad rash on his face!! And the mother promptly, hurt because of my rude behaviour, walks off.

What is it about us, that makes us genetically insensitive as a race? Why can't we understand that there is personal space allotted to each individual that is not meant to be breached? Why is all idiotic behaviour cloaked by 'well wishes'? Anyway that had kept me occupied- fuming that is, for most part of our visit which lasted all of fifteen minutes.

Ad then we went for 3 Idiots- the new Amir Khan starrer this morning. It's a fabulous movie, with Amir K giving a stellar performance. Didn't really expect this kind of a film from Vidhu Chopra- maker of 1942 a love story. The film was enjoyable most of its 2 and 1/2 hours or so...it does drag a bit in parts and improbable where they show amir k delivering the opponent's (the director of his college) grandson...but what the hell- it is an Indian film!!!

Since it was a big mental see-saw on whether to take Abeer or not, a big thanks to him, for sleeping through most of the film...well done and of course, we finished it off with a great lunch at the Newscafe...

All in all, not a bad weekend, now the week starts again. In this week- the world book fair, the suraj kund mela, kabir birthday planning and most importantly- K's school admission lists which come out tomorrow.

Friday, January 29, 2010

Birthday party themes...

my husband made me delete this post...he made me go forward and back...not sexually just the button on my laptop and he thinks he's so cool :-(
So my initial post was all about planning for K's birthday party or rather the lack of it...Am normally so organized, this time just have nothing...not even a theme...his admission lists are looming large just two more days to go and then we get to know which school he gets into...please God, he's a good boy...

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Curing Salmon

Anuj says he's going to get me my very own web space- to write about my recipes...till then...

I finally managed to cure the salmon- which was cured mostly. Mostly, because I left the sides a bit salt less so they remained a bit 'cured-less'. And then Anuj had this brilliant idea to grill it salt and all- result- fabulous grilled semi cured salmon!!!
Write back for the recipe :-)

Roadside Romeo...woof woof

Well with this animation film, we have proved without any speck of doubt that we are morons- I wish the maker of this Yashraj film for children - Jugal Hansraj, is listening.
Anyone who sees this film (I had to because of my four year old) and doesn't know what I'm talking about- this one is not for you.

It is not a cute animated film about dogs for the kiddos (no- leave that to Hollywood to make fabulously funny flicks like 101 dalmatians etc), we have to make our poor 'galli-ke-kutte' also talk like, well our filmi 'galli-ke-kutte'!!! The film is a love story between Saif (who voices for the part like Saif) and Kareena (who tries to voice like a sexy bitch- pardon the pun- and fails miserably, probably because her voice stands unaided by her on screen 'beauty'). There is also the mafioso ' charlie anna' played by the ever so talented Javed Jaffrey - the only grace of this otherwise miserably made movie. No confusion here- it is a c grade Hindi film, with a fallen from grace spoilt dog learning to be street smart falling in love with the Don's love promising to get him the girl saving the don and being given the girl- please excuse I can't be bothered with exclamation marks.
And just one more thing please don't expect decent language just because this film is aimed for children- pee, shut up, idiot, sasur ka nati and all the epithets that are omnipresent in a film set in mumbai meri jaan are right here!!!

I really didn't want to spend more than 10 minutes warning other poor souls and that time's up. Enough time wasted seeing the film as it is!!!

Monday, January 25, 2010

Retail Therapy :-)

And I did it again...went to the mall and spent a bomb a mothercare, buying things which are two seasons too big for both my boys. Reason for this madness- huge sale, or part of it was on huge sale. Result: lots of money spent, satisfaction of not having to spend full money or the tension of not looking out for Kabir's clothes...patch up with hubby dear...all for a good cause :-)

And as for the cooking thing...nothing today, am looking for mackerel recipes though!!!

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Food blogging :-)

By the way, according to my new resolve, am going to try and write about the food I make or the lunches I arrange for Anuj...tomorrow it's plain aloo sabzi with chapatis.
I think the salmon has been successfully cured!

Preschooler's Birthday Party

Today I went with my nearly-four-year-old son to one of his friend's birthday party. Considering the fact that we'd been there the last time as well; we knew just what to expect...big party in a sprawling mansion...2000 balloons, fancy gifts etc. And so it was bigger and better, if a little sombre *(if that's possible)...the theme- Alexander McQueen (no not the designer, the car).
Everything is Lightening McQueen including the bouncy castle and the return gifts must be more than what we gave the poor birthday boy! (by the way what the hell do u give a super rich boy who has everything?)
So Kabir goes on to have a great time except for the hunger- he's just not used to eating late; well at least late by my standards. How cool can a party be if most of the snacks being served are clearly 'adult' in their nature? Or if the cake takes forever to be cut or the food is nowhere to be seen? (Well it was great when it was seen finally, with different dishes for children) What do you say when your son who's just not used to soft fizzy drinks, asks for juice?

Well I'm not being mean, especially as this little boy's mum happens to be a real sweet girl. But it's just a difference in sensibilities, where we make sure at a children's party, it is indeed the kids who come first!

*though not a reason for the sobriety, I got to know later the mother had just remarried, literally a couple of days earlier; recovering from a terrible divorce from an alcoholic physically abusive husband! And if educated girls with super strong parent support take this kind of abuse from their husbands, what do the less privileged ones do?

Monday, January 11, 2010

What am I doing?

No, it's an update on facebook...just a 'profound' question about my life and what i plan to do with it in the near future besides what i'm doing with it right now...
So, I'm bringing up children, cooking lunches, baking cakes, planning dinners, fixing play dates, and massaging fragile egos, wiping tears, dusting rooms, washing clothes....and getting so bored. I feel so useless not working 'in an office'...and now i don't even know what was saying- my husband was quite upset that i hadn't told him- I was going to write a small paragraph everyday.
This is probably what i do- I ramble...and so i ramble on