Friday, February 25, 2011

"You Do Nothing!!!!"

More  punctuation marks.
Yesterday in school, I spotted my boy on his way to empty put his lunch tray. Eager to know what it was and how much of it had gone down, I'd called out to him and the naughty boy had run and emptied his tray before I could reach him.

Later on, on the way back home, when I asked him the reason for doing so, the reply was ready," I'd already showed it to my teachers!"
"And why can't I see it as well?", said I just a little bit hurt.
"Because they teach me, while you just sit at home!" Ouch. That hurt. Big time.
Retrial,"But I have taught you all these years, and I still do", voice quivering just a teeny bit more.
And the confidant reply,"You do nothing except sit at home and shout at my father!!!"
Ouch. OWWWWWWW.

I know better than to believe what a defensive 5 year old has to say much less sit and cry tears over it. But it did get me thinking, again.
Not about the fact that K thinks I shout at his dad, though I have told A not to argue in front of K: he doesn't get half of it/ he thinks we are having a fight/ he thinks the worse of me as I AM the one who's louder while A is the one who's unendingly argumentative!

No, I started thinking about the fact that it's great for children to have an 'at-home' mother. But after a bit, when they are just beginning to get independent, it's great to get working.
Easier said than done.
Many women give up their jobs and careers to bring up their children well. Most have careers they can't really get back to; many can't having gotten out of the professional mind frame. Others find themselves out of depth with younger and or more technologically competent people taking up their place.
So difficult to get your place back....doubly so to prove yourself all over again and more and more each day as you balance professional and personal lives.
And what about those poor souls who never ever worked and are suddenly faced by this dilemma. Will their children respect them more if they had outside approval in the form of paid employment?

I just had one thing to say to my 5 year old.
"Maybe I should just get you a maid and go back to working as I did BEFORE you were born?"
The instant and vehement,"NOOOOO" warmed my tired and cold heart just a little bit.

Monday, February 21, 2011

So tired...oof!

To say that at 7 in the morning, really sounds funny. But I feel as if I have been working all night and all of yesterday and it's so annoying to feel this way as well. Sure doesn't bode very well for my day...grit my teeth and get on with it!

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Sex and the City

I have it all- not really disclosing in public the details of my private life, simply feeling smug about the fact that I have the entire collection of Sex and the City- all the seasons and the first film. The second movie was of course like a paid commercial for Abu Dhabi and completely forced. But I guess they had to show Carrie and Big getting really together- finally and without reservations.

It is a fabulously open series, probably the first of its kind. It talked about, well yes- sex- the big taboo without making it look porno. There was a take on all kinds of issues that touch us- yes even us in this third world country, through the New York girl's column. The writer or the team did an amazing job and I sincerely hope they are all earning big money and even bigger accolades. The fornication-obsessed-foursome was a breath of very very fresh air, telling the world in no sugar coated words about women's needs and the needs of women. That it was probably inspired by men- just regular men, doesn't take away at all from it's originality.
That fashion crazy women can also be intelligent, I guess a first. That even the best of friends can fight, that in a group there are pairs closer than others- brilliant.

Why am I talking about it? Laid up in bed, nothing to do- dug out an old dvd and was thoroughly entertained. Try it and remember to keep an open mind.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Secrecy

"Secrecy is strength. It is the power of the paranoid. It is the religion of closed societies where the ruler is sustained by the lies of the state."


I love these lines from an article I read on Yahoo today (http://in.news.yahoo.com/secret-societies-2010-.html ) . Beautifully put- reflects and explains exactly why my in laws behave the way they always have and why they will never win any one's confidence and their trust. 

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Sham

From the OST of Aisha, this song is so amazing. Sung by Nikhil D'Souza and Amit Trivedi, back up vocals by Neuman Pinto, it is a gem of a song, which I must've heard many times before I accidentally heard it on my ipod while cooking. And I was totally wowed! Doesn't sound like something out of an Indian movie with regular song and dance routines.
With practically no instrumentation to hide the flaws in the voice, it is a fabulously soothing number.

Try it. You will fall for it!

"FUCTUATION"!!! ?

Yes, so many punctuation marks. I do think this particular word requires it!
A brief history into the coining of this word.
I have been unwell these past days. Husband urges me to go for tea to friends house. I go. I am having lovely jasmine tea. Friend's husband walks in. Friend's husband asks about health- not surprising as I am looking particularly crappy. We discuss our respective crappy health issues. I blame 'fluctuations' in weather. He hears 'fuctuations'.
I lay claim to the word.
But what a word! Wow...can very easily be used to explain anything and everything from an over obsessed suitor (ha!) to ups and downs in the stock markets to moods and their swinging times to emotions.
I truly am a genius and some day some wise guy or girl (I doubt it though...the girl bit...having worked with many girls in many different places, I know one thing for sure- girls don't want other girls to be declared more intelligent especially on their watch)- so excuse me girls, I am rooting for a wise guy- literally speaking to wake up and realize the potential of my intelligence! Hello? anyone???

Someday soon!

Blog post anyone?


And to think…

That I would be blogging every single day, writing something or the other about my life boring or otherwise…
I haven’t written a single word in almost a month, more than a month? Why? Just too distressed/depressed/sad/busy playing tragedy queen that I just could not summon up enough energy to convert my wish to write into actual written words.
Who missed me?
Me!

Friday, February 4, 2011

And to think...

...that I would break my own record of writing at least one post everyday. Well it did seem more than achievable as the year started, but then deteriorated just as soon. I can easily blame it on a lot of things including and foremost among them- the crappy house situation, but finally it's me. I should've been more diligent.
Well, as K's 5th approaches, I will get much less time, but I hope to be more regular.